About Stourbridge

About Stourbridge

Stourbridge is a town within the West Midlands situated on the River Stour. In addition to the town of Stourbridge, the constituency is also made up of the nearby towns and suburbs of Cradley, Amblecote, Dudley Wood, Lye, Norton, Oldswinford, Pedmore, Quarry Bank, Wollaston and Wollescote.

Stourbridge is most famous for its historic role in Glass Making, lending it’s name to Stourbridge Glass, recognised as amongst the finest in the world. Additionally, the Red House Glass Cone is nearby to the Constituency although within the historic boundaries of Stourbridge.

The Stourbridge constituency took its current form during Parliamentary boundary changes in 2010, although it was originally a constituency between 1918 and 1950. It was re-formed in 1997 to replace parts of the Halesowen and Stourbridge constituency and has seen only minor changes since.

Stourbridge is also home to several sports clubs, including Stourbridge Town FC and Stourbridge Cricket Club who both share the Memorial Ground near the town centre as well as Stourbridge Rugby Club who play at nearby Stourton Park. There are also two historic education institutions within the constituency, King Edwards VI College which was established in 1552 and Old Swinford Hospital School which was established in 1667.

Proud of Stourbridge